Change Language: Español Français Deutsch English

IPA World Prize 2016

awarded Maria Appelblom

Dated 23-12-2016

IPA Sweden is honoured to confirm that one of this year’s recipients of the IPA World Police Prize is IPA Sweden member Maria Appelblom, who was awarded by the International Executive Board of the IPA. Since its introduction, the IPA World Prize (formerly known as the IPA World Police Prize) has only been awarded 7 times:
1994 Interpol
1995 The founder of the IPA: Arthur Troop
1998 IBZ Gimborn
2000 The United Nations Office of Drug Control and Crime Prevention
2003 Concerns of Police Survivors (COPS)
2006 Dr. Francisco Vicente Badenes (Brazil)
2011 Ahuva Tomer, Lior Boker and Yitchak Melina (Israel)

Ms Appelblom has been a member of the Swedish Section of the IPA since 1996, and is a former member of the Regional IPA Board of Region 6, Sweden. Ms Appelblom is at present the Chief of the UN Standing Capacity. She was nominated by the Swedish Section for her unselfish work on Human Rights, equal opportunities as well as for her dedication to making this world a better place. Ms Appelblom is one of the founders of ‘Woman to Woman’ (Kvinna till Kvinna). This NGO supports women in war zones with supplies of female necessities. She participated actively in the formation of the Nordic Baltic Woman Police Association, of which she remains an active member. Her inexhaustible voluntary work for other human beings over the years in many countries around the world and her dedication in her daily work mirror Ms Appelblom’s genuine concern for fellow human beings, and her belief in making a change ensures that she is a worthy winner of the IPA World Prize. This year, the IPA World Prize was awarded to 2 recipients. The second award goes to the IPA Greece regions of Kilkis, Drama, Magnesia, Akarnania, Lesvos and Chios for their members’ unselfish efforts in providing humanitarian support and services to arriving refugees. Both IPA World Prizes were presented at the Award Winner’s Evening during the recent IPA World Congress in Auckland, New Zealand, and the award for Maria Appelblom was taken home to Sweden by the Swedish Section, as Ms Appelblom was not able to participate due to other commitments on an international level. On behalf of the Swedish IPA section, I would like to forward my most sincere congratulations to Ms Maria Appelblom.

May-Britt Rinaldo, President IPA Sweden


participate in our surveys

Do you like our website?


The IPA-IAC is working with EAWEB - creazione siti web to create the present website.